fresh food is good for the heart

Sometimes I get ambitious when it comes to the kitchen. I’ll scroll through cooking.nytimes.com saving all the recipes that I want to make later. I had a few salads on my list and decided tonight was going to be the night I made them all. I got ingredients for a sweet veggie quinoa salad with pistachios, a ginger, sesame julienned cabbage and veggie salad, and a “potato” salad made with cauliflower instead of potatoes. I also had frozen some chicken, so I marinated it over night and roasted it with leeks and sweet potato. Inspired by this recipe, I threw on some fresh arugula and made a spicy honey harissa yogurt sauce to top the chicken dish. Grace kindly helped me chop everything up, and we were so satisfied with the deliciously healthy banquet we created for ourselves. Plus, the leftovers made great lunches/dinners for the next week.

Leave a Reply

