junk stores + gelato

on

The other day, my housemates went to the thermal baths, but I wasn’t feeling it (weird, right?) so I had a day to myself exploring Budapest. I first went to church at St. Stephen’s Basilica, about a fifteen minute walk from my apartment. I looked online and it said it was the Latin mass, which I would have been okay with because I took some Latin in high school, but really it was 15% Latin, the rest was Hungarian… Let me tell you, the Nicene creed is probably twice as long in Hungarian than in English, but the Our Father was in Latin, and Portsmouth Abbey definitely trained me well for that.

dsc_0388.jpg
Inside of St. Stephen’s Basilica
dsc_0365.jpg
St. Stephen’s Basilica

I had a couple flea markets in mind, and hit a middle eastern market to get some spices to cook with later. I went to the Buda side and found a junk store that is something like Junktiques in Burlington (if anyone knows it). I got a cute table runner, a bracelet, and a incense holder for like $5.

img-20170204-wa0002.jpg
Cute table runner in the kitchen

 

After the thermal baths and my day out, my housemates and I reconvened at the apartment and went to get some fancy gelato a couple blocks away.

One Comment Add yours

  1. smarinoaba says:

    Love the table runner!

    Like

Leave a Reply

